Twisted Poetry

I like to write twisted poems. Okay, not THAT kind of twisted, but twisted as in having a surprise ending, putting a character in a situation you would not normally find them in, or perhaps putting them in a very outrageous and/or embarrassing predicament. If you have looked at samples on my web sites you’ll know what I’m talking about.

For example:

A Hairy Predicament

 Last evening when I went to bed

my face was smooth and bare,

so you can’t imagine my surprise

when I awoke with facial hair!

It happened rather suddenly

and though it may sound weird,

somehow in the dark of night

I grew a mustache and a beard!

 

I’ll try to make the best of things

and accept this odd transition,

but these changes have now placed me in

a precarious position.

For though I look distinguished,

I’m in an awkward sort of mess.

This abnormal growth of whiskers

doesn’t match my brand new dress!

I guess this explains my enjoyment of things like Monty Python and Mel Brooks! We all need to laugh and not take life so seriously all the time.

Visit my web sites!

http://www.wschoffpoetry.weebly.com

http://www.broadsidebill.weebly.com

Leave a Reply

